Lord, I’m Weary

ImageIt was a long Saturday.

I was tired, drained, discouraged and deflated. After serving from sun up to sun down in ministry, I was ready to be done. All day I was hearing negative comments and disparaging remarks about minor details of the ministry.

“Is everything I am doing being done in vain?”

This was the question racing through my mind as I drove home. I called my supervisor and told him the news, partly venting but also looking for encouragement.

It was on this ride home, and through the agent of my supervisor that Christ put my feet on solid ground.

Here are some good reminders for us all who get weary in well doing.

1. As long as our gracious God uses fallen humanity for his purpose, no perfect ministry will exist.

2. I am not God’s only servant or vessel.

3. God will receive his glory no matter what happens.

Each of these truths are encouraging if properly understood! I am not deserving of God’s grace but yet he uses me anyways for his purpose. I must not get discouraged because I am not alone. God will also receive pleasure even without me. This motivates me to examine my heart every moment of every single day.

My friends, do not grow weary in well doing. In the same passage as I take my life verse, Paul the apostle tells us..

“And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.” – Galatians 6:9

May God bless your honest, loving service this week.

And Father…may your will be done.

One comment

Leave a Reply

